The Boy who wanted to be A Man


All hail Boris Johnson, Mayor of London.

Ken Livingstone gave us the oystercard. To some he gave free travel.

Free travel saw a retrobate rabble of youth loudly abusing the previlege so Boris edicted that whilst you still travel freely you swipe your cards like everyone else so that we know you were on the bus should your carousing ways spill over. And some of us said good idea. Some of us even voted for that idea and so it is we have Boris Johnson, Mayor of London.

Personally i like Boris. I think he is a really funny man. I also think it is funny that he is mayor of London. Anyway, whatever, he made his edict and the law became law. And on the day that the law came into being a young person with learning disabilities was arrested for not swiping his card.

Tommy is 19 years old and he is going to go to court for not swiping a card.

Tommy’s mom is beside herself. Really worried for Tommy.

Tommy is telling her don’t worry mom. I will go to court. i will have my day and i will take my punishment like a man.

Mom is saying no no no Tommy you must play the disability card.

Tommy says no no no mother. I am 19 years old. For 19 years i have been treated differently because of who i am. This is my chance to be normal. Just like everyone else. I will not play my get out of jail free card.

I do not know what became of Tommy but I guess he woke up that morning, got on the bus, and never guessed his journey would be so interesting. Rock on Tommy.

Leave a Reply

The Secret Acre

Our journey to a happier life, more in tune with nature, on a one acre smallholding

Colin Hambrook's art and poetry blog

Knitting Time: a project about the experience of psychosis

Nancy's Book Blog

Book Reviews And Gift Ideas.

Quinonostante

Just Stuff I do, or like, or shout about!

crippencartoons

cartoons at the cutting edge of disability

Rockinpaddy

'Ave It!

debondisability

Disability my way

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

