Knowing Your Heroes


Bruce Wayne was Batman. Clark Kent Superman. Bruce Kent he was one of my heroes.

Saw him the other day. Stranding on the corner, handing out leaflets. Our eyes met and there was an acknowledgement. I made a move towards him and was going to say “you used to be my hero”. But, I couldn’t so I moved on and went about my business.

Tacking back, after that, I intended to say hello but he’d already gone, moved on and I wondered if I’d seen a ghost and considered that Bruce may be dead so i wiki-ed him and there is no sense of obituary.

bruce
It made me wonder though. Why would this man mean so much to me. I reckon this. I reckon he was a speaker who sounded right when he took to the Glastonbury stage. I love to hear a good speaker speak. Bruce spoke well. He never bought you down, never called on the gloom though he spoke of heavy things. There were few speakers then. And as time passed by I heard more speakers that I liked to hear, who sang from from different songsheets to me, just because they spoke well. So, Bruce spoke and spoke from on my side. I could have done with more friends like that.
cnd
I guess i’m drawn to speakers cos I never spoke well myself. I never thought I had the mind for it.I oculd never say words like unilateral disarmament. I could never turn the filty 30’s word ‘appeasement’ sound l;ike the dawn of a new future. And sometimes I doubt whether I will ever say anything of import to anyone but I know that I have, that some of my older ideas were sound and it feels good to stand in the shadow of Corbyn who could make all those words and ideas ring more truthful still. One day. Given the chance. Giving Peace A Chance. Given the Chance for Peace to Change the past to bring the future near

bruce2

Leave a Reply

The Secret Acre

Our journey to a happier life, more in tune with nature, on a one acre smallholding

Colin Hambrook's art and poetry blog

Knitting Time: a project about the experience of psychosis

Nancy's Book Blog

Book Reviews And Gift Ideas.

Quinonostante

Just Stuff I do, or like, or shout about!

crippencartoons

cartoons at the cutting edge of disability

Rockinpaddy

'Ave It!

debondisability

Disability my way

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

