Seasonal Adjustments


Have I ever had a bad christmas? Didn’t think so. Refuse to start now. So, from that vantage point i find it hard to hear and accommodate the views of the naysayers and their old, familiar, lines.

img_6082

I Like Xmas

I like Xmas
Tell the Grouches
Sucking on their Humbugs
That I like Xmas
When they say its too long
Starts too early and just goes on and on
Tell them That I like Xmas
If they think it means nothing
And is just an excuse for material consumption
Tell them I like Xmas
If they say its lost its spirit
Lost it with God dying
Tell them that I believe in
Peace and love
And this atheist boy likes Xmas
And if they say take care
Of the sadness and the madness
Tell them I know that but
I still like Xmas
Tell them I like the coming of the tree
The turning on of sparkly lights
The unwrapping of a card
And the excitement of a gift
Tell them I like Xmas dinner
Xmas books
Chocolates
And being with my love
Tell them I like Xmas

27.12.2016

img_6083

New Years Eve

New Years Eve
Always and forever
As sad as me
I would flee
Pre count down
To be alone
With pen
With paper
Caught between
Promise and reflection
In reflection
Hopeless and forlorn
Wishing i’d never been born
Just another indignity
I never asked for
But in promise
Words came fleet
And slipped
Never to be caught
Forces beyond my strength
Denying everything
That was then
This is now
Free of embarrassment
Given life
And breath and hope
Whilst I choose
To stay at home
I am not alone
Together we shall party.

30.12.2016

And now a photo of the last of the mince pies

img_6085

 

Leave a Reply

The Secret Acre

Our journey to a happier life, more in tune with nature, on a one acre smallholding

Colin Hambrook's art and poetry blog

Knitting Time: a project about the experience of psychosis

Nancy's Book Blog

Book Reviews And Gift Ideas.

crippencartoons

cartoons at the cutting edge of disability

Rockinpaddy

'Ave It!

debondisability

Disability my way

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

