Elephanti Sunt Personae / We Are People


There I was taking a walk in Highgate when I came across an elephant

I shot it

Shot it, captured it. Encased it in film.

Took it home

And read its message

The challenge from The Highgate Society Poetry Group this month is to be poetic about ‘extinction’. This is my third offering. I donate it to We Are People
DSC_0376

Elephanti Sunt Personae

Elephanti Sunt Personae
Hidden by the railings
Clear as crystal to be found
Safe in Hackney, Highgate Town
We are people
This is evident
Wise and foolish as before
Standing by the reservoir
Trampling down the green, green grass
Just a while from the Flask
Avoid extinction
This is my task
Raise my trunk, Blow my horn
Its not too late
To say I’m born
Shake my tail
To say goodbye
We are people
Today we die

 

Leave a comment

Dread Poets Sobriety

Irreverence's Glittering New Low!

RealityandDreamsWorld

Imagination, is the art that runs the world, in Reality and Dreams.

ENFIELD POETS

A community of poets based in the Enfield area.

kdoutsiderart

Artists | Theory | Thoughts

Piss on Pity exhibition

An exhibition of disabled artists’ work that reflects the antipathy of the disabled people’s movement towards charity.

Human Writes

Life, Love, loss and all that lies inbetween

Marysa Writes

Because she can