Photo Challenge; 24th October 2023



I think I was at the Embankment tube station following an action when I saw an advertisement from the MS Society quoting a ‘sufferer’ saying “I feel like an alien on an hostile planet’. I set this as the latest photo challenge.



Alien On Hostile Planet

Imagine all those things seen never seen
All those things we’ve touched as not being touched
Imagine this planet green as not green
Imagine light and heavy things all crushed
Imagine everything ground into dust
This is what the alien came to see
The way we are the way we soon will be
The way our hostilities paved the way
For us and them to face the final days
The last days for you the last days for me

Imagine everything that we have lost
Precious things we would choose before to keep
Disappearing like the bridges we crossed
Piling around us in a great big heap
This is the harvest the harvest we reaped
This is what the alien came to hear
The sound of your shout the sound of fear
The cry of your babies your shrillest scream
Your enemies laughter their mocking jeers
The end of a life the end of this dream

Richard Downes
24th October 2023

A Dyspraxic’s Ode to an Escalator

Oh Escalator
I’ll try my bestcalator,
To pass your testcalator,
And not fall on my arsecalator.

Colin Wright

On my calculator
I hope to call ya later
Hoping there’s no crater
For such a silly tater

Ivan Riches

From my 4-star hotel
Foresee a glistening descent
Steel-hard teeth
honed for 13 years
gnashing at my family’s toes
Driven out by post-colonial non-strategies

Charles Barraball

Dante’s inferno’s stairway
Was ever thus a fair way
For those with evil intent
Who underwent descent
On one Circle line but fell
Into the Nine Circles of Hell

Kit Wells

Welcome to my whirlygig
Dig my escalation descent into
Hostile nations scuppering a dip dip dip
Into desolation

Wendy Young

Leave a comment

Dread Poets Sobriety

Irreverence's Glittering New Low!

RealityandDreamsWorld

Imagination, is the art that runs the world, in Reality and Dreams.

ENFIELD POETS

A community of poets based in the Enfield area.

kdoutsiderart

Artists | Theory | Thoughts

Piss on Pity exhibition

An exhibition of disabled artists’ work that reflects the antipathy of the disabled people’s movement towards charity.

Human Writes

Life, Love, loss and all that lies inbetween

Marysa Writes

Because she can